How to remove all old posts from your Facebook account


Hide images on Facebook

Facebook has now started showing you “On this day” where you see your old posts you made on that day 3-5 years back. Some of this can be stupid, lame or downright embarrassing. These are shown only to you but remember if you ever tagged a friend on those posts it appears on their private “On this day” list too. You wouldn’t want old posts of you and your ex to re-surface on your ex’s “On this day”. So here we will look at a few ways you can remove those old embarrassing posts and save your day.

  1. Facebook already has a tool in place for some time for hiding your old public posts and it is probably one of the best solutions available right now to save your day. Follow these steps to use the tool:
  • Click on the “lock” sign on the top right corner and select “See more settings” and then click on “Limit past posts”.

    limit past posts
    Limit past posts dialog box
  • You should see a pop-up box appear on which you can click the blue colored “Limit Old Posts” button to change the visibility of all your older posts to just your “Friends”.
  1. The next step you can take is doing a timeline check-up. First check how your timeline actually looks to the general public. Follow these steps:
  • Go to your Facebook profile page and click the three dots to the right of the “Activity Log” button and choose “View as…” and this should show your profile as it would look like to general public who is not on your friend list. In case you want to see how it looks like to a specific friend you can do the same by clicking “View as Specific person.
View profile as public
View profile as public
  • Go through your own profile and look for posts that are no longer necessary. Click on the date under your name and hide/delete the post from your timeline. To hide you can click the drop down menu on top right corner of each post card or click on the “Globe” icon and change privacy from public to “Friends” or “Only me” as desired.
  • You can also hit the cross button and delete the post altogether.
  1. The next most obvious step would be to fix your timeline settings so that the posts you make today do not pose the same problem in the future. To do so follow these steps:
  • Click on the same “Lock” icon on the top right of the page and click on “Timeline and Tagging” settings in the left bar of the page.
change timeline settings.
Change your timeline settings as you see fit.
  • Change the options as seen on bellow to “Friends” or whatever you personally prefer.
  1. Regularly review your timeline settings and old posts to prevent an embarrassing or uncomfortable situation. If all the above settings doesn’t work for you, you can use a Chrome extension like Facebook Posts Manger. I should definitely warn you that these plugins tend to be a little aggressive and you need to be very careful while using this plugins to make sure it doesn’t end up deleting the posts that you do not want to delete.

Let us know if these steps helped in preventing an unwanted situation.

Read Next: Facebook might be the reason you are feeling depressed.

Comments

comments

What's Your Reaction?
Interesting Interesting
0
Interesting
Geeky Geeky
0
Geeky
WTF! WTF!
0
WTF!
LOL LOL
0
LOL
Confused Confused
0
Confused
Awesome Awesome
0
Awesome
Love it! Love it!
0
Love it!
OMG! OMG!
0
OMG!
Scary Scary
0
Scary

I am the editor at Windroidica. I love blogging, video blogging and helping others with modern day technologies. Started this website with the same goal in mind. I am also helping others set up websites for their own businesses.

How to remove all old posts from your Facebook account

log in

Don't have an account?
sign up

reset password

Back to
log in

sign up

Captcha!
Back to
log in